Southern Plains

The Southern Plains region is made up of more than thirty federally recognized tribes throughout three states: Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas. Discover these rolling grasslands and learn about the lands that were the site of many significant events in Native American history.
  • "Oklahoma" comes from the Choctaw words oklah homma, which means "red people."
  • Texas has more than 13,000 State Historical Markers for everything from the Alamo to sacred burial grounds to landmarks of the Wild West.
  • Smith County in Kansas is the geographical center of the 48 contiguous states.

See All Southern Plains Experiences on a Map

View All Posts

Newsletter Signup